scenicroadway

Inspiration through photos, writing, & quotes

Silence

I wrote this poem. I’m a fan of rhyming, but it’s certainly not my expertise.

Silence

There’s something in the silence, but it’s never been quite clear

Is it comforting or deafening, or music to my ear?

I find it in the quiet, it comes from deep within

It tells me where I’m going, and shows me where I’ve been

I don’t need an ear to listen, or someone’s hand to hold

Because my thoughts are loud and clear, underlined and bold

I listen to the echoes, but I cannot hear the screams

Of all the thoughts inside, and reoccurring dreams

Like a bullet searching for it’s target, I am looking for mine

Silence brings motionless and the planets misalign

I’m looking for that defining moment, when my world stands still

I don’t want all the answers, because searching holds the thrill

I want to be like the rhythm, to my favorite song,

Meaning I am sensible, and that I belong

But aside from the song, I find great value in the silence

Because for a few moments, it ceases all the violence

I don’t mean world wars, I’m talking about battles inside

I guess I’m saying at times, I’m conflicted on this ride

Sometimes life can be raging, like a heart attack,

But in silence, I find, that all fades to black

It’s a ride I can’t get off of, and nor would I try

Because that would be like gravity, which I cannot defy

So when my thoughts are spinning, like electric ballet dancers

I turn to silence, because it holds all the hidden answers

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 26, 2011 by in My Writing/Drawings and tagged , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 76 other followers

