scenicroadway

Inspiration through photos, writing, & quotes

Follow Happiness

Follow happiness, wherever it takes you.

This is a quote that I find highly significant. I came up with it a few months ago, but I’m sure it’s been said in many ways. Sometimes our hearts direct us in the craziest directions. We wind up at places that we never even expected to be, with people we never expected to be with. The people in our lives rarely stay the same, and the surroundings are ever-changing. Sometimes we find ourselves caught between a rock and a hard place. We’re at a loss of all the things that once made sense. That’s when we focus our decisions based off of “what if’s”. What if I had done this differently? What if I chose something else? What if I am not where I belong? “What if’s” are a great thing when you’re trying to spark creativity; but while trying to make life decisions…..not so much! Your head becomes clouded with all the possibilities of what could be, and what could’ve been. In the end, nobody wants to be left wondering, “did I make the right choice?”. Sometimes you have to stop thinking with your head, and start thinking with your heart. The right decisions aren’t always the most logical. Just because it’s right for someone else, doesn’t mean it’s right for you. You have to make choices based off of your own values and needs. Decide what is important to you, and follow what your heart tells you. If you’ve wanted to be a doctor your whole life and suddenly you want to become an astronaut–then become an astronaut! Yes, it’s a lot of work, and possibly some wasted efforts–but do you want to find happiness in your future? Plans and people change, and we can’t really count on anything or anyone to remain constant. Life is too short to be unhappy, and way too short to revolve around broken dreams. A lifetime can be easily wasted by setting impossible goals to achieve.

For me, following happiness meant chasing my dreams ten hours away at a University in North Carolina. Just nine months later I realized my heart just wasn’t in it anymore. I followed happiness right back to my doorstep in Pennsylvania. Spending that time away from home was one of the best experiences I’ve ever had, and I will never regret it. But leaving my loving family, friends, and boyfriend behind were among the hardest of my struggles. I met some incredible people away at school, and one in particular I will always keep close to my heart. (You will certainly hear more about her later!) For that reason, and others, I truly feel like attending this college was set in the stars for me–even if I didn’t stay.

No matter what the future holds always remember that this is your one and only life. There is no going back. There is no pause button. Time keeps going and is the most precious thing we have here on Earth. Be proud of yourself. You’ve made it this far. Always remember to follow happiness, wherever it takes you.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 77 other followers

