scenicroadway

Inspiration through photos, writing, & quotes

People and Existence

Time and time again, I fall victim to insomnia. Thankfully, it has gotten much better than it was in the past. Last night, insomnia got the best of me, and I sat wide awake a majority of the night. I try to avoid sleeping pills as much as possible, because I have developed immunities to them in the past. During my sleep deprived time, I (as always) began some of my deep thinking. I thought about a lot, but the most common theme in my thoughts was people.

I realized how big of an impact people leave on each other. Because we are all unique, each individual has different ways of impacting us. In some cases, the impact is found through words.

Has a person ever impacted you by simply using words?

For most of us, the answer is yes. Whether verbal or written words, they still influenced you in some way. Maybe someone gave you advice, or let you in on a secret.

One example of the impact of words in my own life is song lyrics and quotes. It is probably safe to assume that we have all heard the saying “life goes on”. Although small in length, these three words are big in meaning. These three words (along with 3-4 caffeinated drinks) get me from one day to the next. Many years ago, someone spoke those words, and probably never realized they’d be quoted for the rest of time. That person has and will continue to impact billions of lives, with just three simple words, for years to come. Now that is a large scale example, but apply it to your own life. Think of the words that impact you on a daily basis. Think of all the people who have helped shape your life. People are leaving their inspiration everywhere, simply through words. Don’t leave words unspoken. You never know, the world could be quoting you someday.

Another contribution people have given me is found through gestures. Truthfully, I believe thoughtful people are the ones who change the world. The people who do kind gestures “just because” are the most inspiring. There is a lot of encouragement to be found in selfless gestures. These acts range from huge to miniscule, but each holds greatness. Someone did a kind gesture for me that will probably impact me for the rest of my life.

I was doing observations in a fourth grade classroom as a requirement for one of my classes. There was a little boy names Christian. He seemed a little different than the other children, but still I deemed him kindhearted from the start. As weeks went by, I noticed Christian was constantly fighting for my attention. To me, it seemed like he did not have much acceptance from his peers. He was often isolated from the other students (for what I thought was bad behavior-at the time). One particular day, Christian told me he had “gifts” for me. He reached in his desk and pulled out a small blue container. I was puzzled. He opened the box and took out a pumpkin eraser, a pencil, some post it notes, and a bookmark. Christian handed me the objects, and told me he noticed I had no school supplies other than a pen and notebook.

I often think of Christian and realize how genuine his gesture was. At his age, possession is everything. Although the items were physically useless to me (because I had my own), they were still valuable because of the story behind them. Towards the end of my time at that school, I learned that Christian was autistic. His autism was the reason he needed to be isolated, since he needed individual attention. Because his classmates did not understand this, they were not very accepting of the boy who was “different”. I felt satisfied with myself knowing that in some small way I probably impacted Christian’s life. By simply giving him my attention, I was able to help him grow as a person. I always smile to myself when I think of Christian and his kind gesture. I bet he will never know how much he impacted me.

Isn’t it strange that the slightest actions change our lives or how we may only be acquainted with someone for a short period of time, but they somehow touch our lives?

Each person has the opportunity to leave his mark on this world, and the people in it. It is up to that person if they choose to leave their words unspoken or potential gestures undone. But think of your life without all the wise words given to you. Imagine how different your life would be without the acts of kindness people have done for you. Do you realize how big of an effect the actions and words of others have on us? Do you realize how many lives you have changed (and will change) through your words and gestures? There is inspiration to be found in every person. There is hope to be given from your very own life.

I guess I’m thankful for the insomnia after all.

4 comments on “People and Existence

  1. The Simplest Thing
    October 6, 2011

    Nice thoughts Krista, i expect your words are impacting lots of people in a positive way through this blog 🙂 When we can’t sleep it’s normally cos our minds are racing, we’re just thinking to much and can’t stop. When you can’t sleep have you tried putting on the radio on a talk show channel, perhaps with headphones or earbuds? Listening to others talk about whatever can take your mind off things and after a while sometimes you fall asleep. Othertimes maybe the talk at least stops you getting bored and going over the same thing in your mind!

    • scenicroadway
      October 6, 2011

      Thanks Jeremy…So true, and such great advice. I’ll definitely keep it in mind the next time I become an insomniac 🙂

  2. Paolo Photographer
    October 29, 2011

    Great light!!!! 🙂

    • scenicroadway
      October 30, 2011

      Thanks Paolo. Surprisingly, I took this with my phone!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 76 other followers

