scenicroadway

Inspiration through photos, writing, & quotes

Why does it matter?

Lately I’ve been so frustrated with a few people, and I began considering maybe I was the one who needed to change. Upon careful consideration, and hours of thinking, I came up with this.

Why does it matter what shoes I wear? Why do people care about the clothes I wear, or the car I drive? Why does it concern others who my friends and enemies are? Is it really anyone’s business who I spend my time with? No. It’s my life, and I can be anyone I want. No one else is living my life for me, so why should they have a say in how I live? Sure people will always judge me, and there will always be people trying to change me. But I am so tired of people building expectations of what I should and shouldn’t do. I’m tired of people trying to tell me what is right and wrong. I never once imagined that people I considered my friends would try to turn me into something/someone I’m not. It’s my life, and I’m the one living it. My choices are mine to make, and no one should attempt to take that away from me. If I’m happy with the person I am, then why should anyone else’s opinion of me matter? No one is perfect, so why do they feel the need to criticize my mistakes? I know I have flaws, but that is just a constant reminder for me that I still have things to work on. I still have room to grow. I try as hard as I can to be the best version of myself I can possibly be. I don’t owe anyone an apology for being who I am.

I won’t change myself for anyone else. I won’t conform to anyone else’s vision of who I should be. I don’t owe anyone an explanation for who I am. I can say what I want, do what I want, dress how I want, and spend my time doing whatever I please. I’m the one who faces the good and bad consequences of my actions. Real friends don’t ever make you feel bad about the person you are. They don’t make you feel like less of a person. They accept you just the way you are, and real friends understand that you have flaws, just as they do. You either accept a person for who they are, or you don’t. There is no in between.

(A few years ago–One of our “dress up” nights)

8 comments on “Why does it matter?

  1. everymanlaw
    October 12, 2011

    Thanks for the ping. I sense some frustration in your post 🙂 You will be happy to know that most times, you don’t ever need to change a thing, unless and until you personally decide to. Contentment is hard to come by and misery loves company – so a lot of folks won’t get you for being so self-assured since you are the epitome of everything that they are not. Keep being you and cheer up!!

  2. stillstrange
    October 13, 2011

    I think it is ‘The Back Street Boys’ that have a song titled ‘It’s My Life’ you should hear saying what you just said. I feel the same way however it is tough being married to someone who believes faking it for the general populations approval makes life much easier.

    • scenicroadway
      October 13, 2011

      I’ll have to check it out..and I can only imagine how tough that must be. Thanks for reading, do you have a wordpress blog? I can’t seem to find it

  3. The Simplest Thing
    October 13, 2011

    It sounds like you’ve had a real bad day. There’s obviously a big story behind whatever’s upset you but you don’t say what it is. Maybe your friends were just trying to help, you know, giving an opinion and never meant to upset you. Of course it’s your life – you set your style and choose your direction, but take your friends with you – the good ones anyway! 🙂 The song has gotta be Dr. Alban – It’s my life youtube.com/watch?v=Lcy7g05AbC0
    Anyways, that was yesterday’s and it all starts today, so here’s wishing you a better day 🙂

    • scenicroadway
      October 13, 2011

      Thanks again for the kind words Jeremy, and the song as well. Today is a much better day..Hope you are doing well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 12, 2011 by in My Life and tagged , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 76 other followers

