scenicroadway

Inspiration through photos, writing, & quotes

In the blink of an eye

I hate when I fall out of the habit of blogging. I love to write and I feel like I’m really missing out when I don’t get a chance to sit down at the end of the day and write. School has been going well, but just so busy. The semester is (surprisingly) flying by. It actually feels really weird to have time go by so fast. I hear a lot of my peers complain about the semester dragging “onnnnn annnnnd onnnn”, and I just don’t get it. They’re so eager to get to the next stage of their life. I understand where they’re coming from, but at the same time, I just don’t feel the same. Right now  is the time of our lives. It’s the last stage (and preparing stage) before we’re all off in the “real world” (not to mention, paying back tens of thousands of dollars in loans…). I’m in no rush.

I feel like my life is moving so fast. The other day I was out to dinner with my mom, aunt, and cousin (a weekend tradition), and I sat in awe as I listened to my fourteen-year-old cousin tell stories about school. I quickly recalled a time when I was her age. And it hit me, my fourteen year old cousin is off to high school in a few months. I know this is nothing out of the ordinary for a teenager. But, it’s just so hard for me to wrap my mind around the fact that 14 years ago I held this, now 14 year old, in my arms as an infant. I’ve watched her grow up. I’ve watched her turn from an infant into a tall teenager (who by the way hovers over me!). It was all in the blink of an eye. Nothing makes time more relative than watching the people around you grow up.

I didn’t really intend for this post to be a about my cousin, although it did turn in that direction. More so, my point was that life goes by so fast. One minute I was playing with my dolls in my childhood home, and in the blink of an eye, I’m half way through college. Scary.

2 comments on “In the blink of an eye

  1. Bella46076
    May 14, 2012

    I been meaning to comment here ever since I read this post, but I never did get the chance. So, here I am to comment lol! Anyway, I agree on what you’re saying. People talking and talking about how’s next year going to go, but just like you, I would rather not talk about it and just live for the moment. I mean, if those people look back at this year they’ll probably just see themselves talking about the next year and noticing that they really didn’t do anything fun and exciting.

    • scenicroadway
      May 18, 2012

      Thanks for stopping by….I’m glad someone is in agreement..Time flies by so fast, it’s important to embrace the moment (:

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 28, 2012 by in My Life and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 76 other followers

