scenicroadway

Inspiration through photos, writing, & quotes

Drowning the Voices

This is not my typical post, but I feel it’s well worth saying.

I am so irritated lately at how ridiculous some people are. It’s like hatred runs through their veins, and they only talk to offend others. June is gay pride month, and although I am straight, I am in full support of LGBT. If you “hate gays”, I don’t automatically disapprove of your opinion. I believe that everyone is entitled to their own opinion. But, just because you are entitled to an opinion, doesn’t mean you have to be hateful of others.

My rant about hate extends far beyond this. I’m so sick of hearing or seeing racial remarks everywhere I turn. It’s like people just search for a reason to be consumed by hatred. Even if I didn’t have a mixed cousin, I would still never even imagine trying to hurt someone based on their skin color. It hurts me to think that someday my five year old cousin could be the victim of intolerance, simply because he was born to a mom and dad of different races.

We are all people. You’re not better than someone else because of your skin color, the amount of money you have, or your sexual preference. What does hate do for you other than consume your energy and time? Nothing. You wind up hurting someone who doesn’t deserve it. You get nothing but bad karma. Congrats.

I believe there are two types of people in this world. There are good people, and then there are those with the potential to be good people. Whichever category you fall into is not dependent on your race, your size, your religion, what car you drive, or who you’re dating. Being a good person is all about having integrity. It’s doing the right thing, even when no one is looking. Being a good person is respecting others, even if you disagree. And most importantly, being a good person is accepting that we are all different, but knowing that not one single person is less valuable than anyone else.

As a future educator and (someday) parent, it scares the hell out of me that one of my students or children could feel like they’re not good enough for this world. In a world with so much hate, it’s impossible to fulfill everyone’s expectations. It’s easy to feel “not good enough”. With children/teenage suicide rates climbing, how can we be so intolerant? I don’t ever want anyone to feel that they are any less of a person just because some ignorant _____(fill in the blank) was disrespectful. You are good enough. You do have a purpose in this world. Don’t ever let the hate of someone else stop you from living your life. Surround yourself with people who see your greatness and accept you for who you are.

The purpose of this post is not to persuade you to be accepting of everyone. I respect that we all have our own opinions. But, if you get one thing out of this, I hope it’s that a little tolerance goes a long way. We are all people, and we all deserve respect.

I’ll never let differences prevent someone from being my friend. Black, white, big, small, catholic, atheist, educated or not, I will still respect you and welcome you into my life.

One comment on “Drowning the Voices

  1. terry1954
    June 27, 2012

    Amen to this blog!!!! loved it and so glad you wrote it! i am straight, and i do not see their ways as they do, but i am not God nor should i judge. if i need to be a judge, i need to start with myself first. we all have opinions, you are right, but it is how you let that opinion be shown that matters…………………….great blog!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 77 other followers

