scenicroadway

Inspiration through photos, writing, & quotes

Sleighton School Part 2!

Hello! This is a follow up post from my “A Visit to Sleighton Farm School” post back in November of 2011. Previously when I shared a few photos and some brief information, I received more feedback than I had ever expected (which of course I enjoyed thoroughly). Many of you have shared great information and/or stories. A few of you even connected with each other over past experiences. I have enjoyed all the comments and e-mails I have been receiving. Quite a few of you asked about more photos from my visit. So here they are. I apologize in advance for the “scenicroadway” tags everywhere, but I already made the mistake of posting these photos to another site–only to quickly learn that people do steal photos and claim them as their own. Nearly all of the photos are collaged; if you would like to see a larger version of any particular photo(s), I’d be more than happy to e-mail it to you. I look forward to hearing more stories and information. Feel free to comment below or e-mail me at scenicroadway@gmail.com

Enjoy!

Sleighton Farm SchoolSleighton Farm SchoolSleighton Farm SchoolSleighton Farm SchoolSleighton Farm SchoolSleighton Farm SchoolSleighton Farm SchoolSleighton Farm SchoolSleighton Farm School

24 comments on “Sleighton School Part 2!

  1. Pingback: A Visit to Sleighton Farm School « scenicroadway

  2. terry1954
    August 19, 2012

    i would never consider stealing your photos, but i do love looking at them. i love photography!!!

  3. Char
    September 12, 2012

    Hey there,
    I love your photos. I was actually thinking of visiting to take some of my own. I know where it basically is and where some of the buildings are located but where would you suggest I turn off of Valley road? Thanks!

    • scenicroadway
      September 13, 2012

      Hey Char,

      I’m glad you enjoyed my photos. I’d be more than happy to give you some suggestions through e-mail. Feel free to e-mail me at scenicroadway@gmail.com or comment with your e-mail address.

  4. Suzanne Landi
    September 15, 2012

    I took a ride yesterday to the site of the Sleighton School and it is truly amazing, but also very sad that all those beautiful buildings are falling apart. The old ways of building is gone and so are most of the old homes! Most of the craftsmen have died and their children or grandchildren did not want to know the trade. Now we have fast and easy, and a new house is built in a few months and doesn’t last hundreds of years.

  5. Pingback: Unspoken « scenicroadway

  6. freda
    February 23, 2013

    I was there in 1967

    • freda
      February 23, 2013

      It is unreal to look at these pictures of the beautiful place that i once lived in.

      • Josette
        March 12, 2013

        Freda, I’m trying to a documentary on Sleighton. Would you be interested in speaking with me? Please email at josette.todaro@gmail.com

  7. Doris Riley
    April 4, 2013

    Was their from 68-71 I’m 60yrs. old now remember like it was yesterday.Please feel free if you have any questions for me.

    • Josette Todaro
      April 14, 2013

      Hello Doris, I would love to speak with you. I’m working on a documentary about Sleighton. Please contact me at 610-737-3602 or my email josette.todaro@gmail.com. Thank you, Josette

    • Donnelly Barb
      August 16, 2013

      DORIS….I have other contacts that have been in touch with me. please see my facebook page at Sleighton Farm Views……my email address is BABS562@gmail.

      Please get in touch with me. I do not work with Josette….this is personal.

  8. Jeanette Hayden
    July 2, 2013

    I was a student at Sleighton 1959-1961. Reading these blogs and seeing pictures of the pace in ruins has been fascinating, but also sad.

  9. ines
    September 3, 2013

    I remember being there i used to live in lmi and then was moved to the washington cottage i loved living there im happy to see someone cares about posting pictures of sleighton farms i lived there for a year and a half and i would like to visit the place again again thanks for the pics.

    • babs562
      April 1, 2014

      WASHINGTON COTTAGE – this past weekend, early morning Saturday, March 29, 2014….this cottage went up in flames. Very sad.

      • freda
        April 2, 2014

        Are all of the cottages being destroyed. Is there anything left to be visited. I plan to be in Philly early june. Can we meet .

  10. Sharaya Gambrell
    November 16, 2013

    I too was sent to the school for nothing i got charge with a gun and a stolen car because i had an attacker who feel a sleep and I saw my chance to escape him even though I left the gun and car when i thought i was far enough away but I made the best and learned alot from being there I ran track played valley ball and worked as a basketball manager for the boys they moved me from washington cottage to the mansion which was suppose to be for the girls they called crazy but seemed ok to me how ever we had much freedom we were able to shop for our meals and cook for ourselves trips to the malls and had a blast up until i went awall just being tried of coming back and forth away from my real family i wouldn’t change anything about my time there or those i can to know as far as the horror stories everyone has their own stories but mines were far from horror it was definitely a life lesson

    • babs562
      April 1, 2014

      sharaya, hopefully you have clicked to follow the comments and be notified by email so you can see this. Washington Cottage burned this past weekend, March 29, 2014. see my facebook page Sleighton Farm Views….Barbara xo

  11. eva potts
    February 11, 2014

    hi my mom also lived there back in the early 40s found a book about her. mom and dad and family coming to visit her I wonder if they have old records of the people that was in that school? She talked about going to get potatoes or something walking to a garden?

    • babs562
      April 1, 2014

      EVA … what do you mean found a book about her. If you want, I would love to speak with you by telephone, in can be confidential. 610 – 717- 8231 Barbara

      I have a facebook page called Sleighton Farm Views…..I update it often with scanned images from long ago, you may even see your mom!

      Is you mom still alive today? Since hardly any records exist…..people like you are the only hope of recording anything.

      Barbara – Delaware County, pa.

  12. robin r myers
    May 6, 2014

    hello i am robin r myers my maiden name was wickline my father and mothe both worked there and we had a home across the street,also property of the school,i enjoyed growing up there

  13. colleen
    July 28, 2014

    I was looking to shoot the school sometime soon, I hear there are guards present, do you know if they would permit me to photograph the famous?

  14. Karen S. Lee
    June 29, 2017

    Hi my name Lee and I was a counselor at Sleight on Farms right before they closed.It was a joy to work there with the beautiful scenario and the historic tale.It was also a place to help troubled teens get back to being productive adults in society. I had the pleasure of working with the greatest staff in the world.We all loved and cared for each and every one of those kids that we encountered.I would love to see this monumental,historic place be restored to glory.If there anything I can do please contact me.Boy do I have some stories tell.LOL😉

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 76 other followers

