scenicroadway

Inspiration through photos, writing, & quotes

5 Ways to De-Stress

I’ve decided to compile a list of my top 5 de-stress ideas. These are things that I do, that work for me. A few of them may seem strange, but give them a chance.

1. Change it up-Try new things

Yes. You read that right. Change it up! Whenever I feel stressed, I like to change up some of my daily routines. Suggestions:

  • Take a different route to your daily destinations (school, work, grocery store…)
  • Try a new shampoo and/or body wash, try new foods, visit new places
  • Change up the order of your tasks (shower/exercise/blog etc. at a different time than you normally do )
  • Learn about something that you’ve never been interested in. You just might take a liking to it.

Trying new things helps improve your flexibility. It helps you to think outside of the box. New experiences bring you to places you’ve never been. You just may find happiness there, and if you don’t, at least you won’t have to wonder.

2. Write it out

If you stumbled across this post, it’s possible that you are a blogger. Maybe you blog everyday. Do you talk about your problems though? Do you write about what’s going on in your head and your heart? Speaking from my experience, I tend to filter most of the personal thoughts out. My posts are usually photography-related, and have little to do with my personal life. That’s what I keep a journal for. I can say anything and everything I want, exactly how I want to say it. I don’t have to worry about the judgement of others. I can simply work through my thoughts. Trust me, they’re much easier to work through when they’re out of your head and onto the paper. Write it out. Even if you feel like there’s not much to say, just write. Once your pen hits the paper, you just may be surprised about all of the things going on inside your head. Write for you.

3. Be thankful

Too often we tend to focus on the negative aspects of our day. In doing so, we are failing to recognize all of the wonderful things we should be appreciative of. Two minutes out of your day is all it takes. Sit down and write out 5 good things that happened to you today. These 5 wonderful things deserve your appreciation. Even on your toughest days, you must find things to be thankful for. Happiness comes in all sizes. Don’t forget to appreciate the small things as well. Someone else is praying for the things that you have.

4. Random acts of kindness

This is one of my favorites. A few months ago, I was in the dollar store buying a few dollars worth of items. The lady in front of me asked the cashier to ring my things up on her bill! She payed for my things and told me to have a great day. To this day, it is still on my mind. The random kindness of a stranger made my day and changed my whole outlook. In turn, I did the same thing for someone else the next day. I payed for the coffee and doughnut of the man behind me, and told him to have a nice day. Little things like this make all the difference in the world. It truly does not take much to turn someone’s day around. And the satisfaction of doing so will make you feel good too. Opportunities for kindness will pop up everyday. Take them as often as possible.

5. Let go

Sometimes, we let things break us. Words. People. Memories. Moments. Choices. It’s important to let things go. If you can’t change it, then don’t dwell on it. We can’t relive the past. Life has no rewind button or instruction manual. The only thing we get in return when we dwell in the past is wasted time. Accept your mistakes and the mistakes of others. Forgive yourself and forgive those who have hurt you. Forgiving someone does not always mean they deserve forgiveness. It means that you are strong enough to move forward with your life. Don’t let anything hold you back from being happy. Start each day new and leave yesterday in the past. It may have broken you, but it will not define you…unless you let it.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 77 other followers

